Welcome to November aka Nanowrimo!

I told myself I wasn’t going to do Nanowrimo this year. I’m too busy. I have a lot going on right now. Blah, blah, blah. But yesterday when I was having coffee with all my writer friends and they were all talking about Nano, I changed my mind.
So here I am, starting Nano on day four.

It’s a lot of writing to make up, but I think I can do it.

So What Is Nanowrimo?

I’m sure most of you know what Nano is, but for those of you who don’t, Nanowrimo is a writing challenge where you complete 50,000 words in 30 days during the month of November.

That’s a lot of words.

You don’t quite finish an entire novel (a full novel is generally between 70k and 110k) but you get a whole lot written and that’s the point.

You can check out the official Nanowrimo website here.

The Reality of Nano

I’ve participated in Nano before, so let me be the first to tell you what Nano really is. It’s a caffeine and sugar fueled month of writing in every moment you can eek out of your day. It’s a month where you don’t eat, sleep, or exercise like you know you should. It’s a month where you tell your friends and family, “I can’t, I’m behind on my word count,” when they invite you places.

It’s a little crazy.

But it’s also pretty fun and when you’re finished, it’s pretty satisfying.

So feel free to join me, or at least watch my increasing craziness and laugh at me while I take this journey through November. I’ll keep you updated on my progress here!

My Nano handle is KayleeRuddle. Look me up, become my buddy! If you follow me on twitter (@KayleeRuddle), I’ll also be posting the madness there.

To all of you who are also doing Nano, Good Luck!

About Kaylee

I'm a red head, traveler, bartender, baker, dreamer, writer, and amateur photographer with a love of the color yellow, a shopping problem, and impulse issues. I write about superheroes and fitness and stuff.
This entry was posted in Nanowrimo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

